Erudite Table Manner of Korean

Nothing impresses me as much as how Koreans behave during their meal time. There is a possibility that this is common culture also shared by their dearest neighbour: Japanese. (Foot note: these two countries, Korea and Japan, share bittersweet history from ancient era until now). However, I cannot tell for sure since I have never stepped on Sakura land.

 

In Korea, it is quite common for professors to take out the whole team (can be up to ten persons) for an informal dinner after an industrious day. Despite the full-of-respect attitude towards elder person, in this kind of gathering, you may talk and discuss freely almost as if without boundaries. (Well, I think that alcohol also helps in some ways to overstep the unspoken social norms).

Their first choice of restaurant is always a Korean restaurant. No matter how hip the newly opened Pasta bar around the neighbourhood, they would not even share a glimpse. Korean food is and will always be their priority. And they take extended measure to make sure that foreigner like me would savour their original culinary, while always being anxious about whether I fancy it or not. (So far, I gulp them all, portraying embarassing gluttony). My favourit so far is the “nakkji” or octopus. Freshly-eaten octopus, to be exact. (Now that I think about it, is there any PARASITES EGG inside those juicy tender tentacles???????)

Once we all sit down, the culture clash begins. Culture clash between Koreans and Indonesians (like me, ehemm) I mean. Everyone will directly race to be the first one serving the whole group. Pouring water into each glass; preparing spoons and chopsticks; preparing to burn the meat (if we are eating “Samgyeopsal” or Korean pork bbq). Anything! Everyone races to be the first one to serve, not the first one to be served. And the last one left behind would be left with indecent feeling towards ownself (that is usually me). The most embarassing moment so far, is when I got so wind up and accidentally let my professor served for me. That is such a great humiliating moment, I assure you.

And then eating begins. The professors start to transfer the food from the communal plate to his private plate. If at that time there is professor’s guest, he would be given the privilege to open the feast. Anyhow, I think this is common manner everywhere so, for this step, I excel (ehemm) in not being the first to greedily excavate the food. The first brother (do not be surprised about how we have that kind of nickname just like in Shaolin Temple, it just so happens that hierarchy rules) commence opening botles of happiness and warm feeling a.k.a. mekju and soju (both area Korean alcoholic beverages widely consumed, and which scent emanates from subway trains every early morning on weekends). His Highness First Brother carefully measure amount of soju poured into small glass in order to create precise ratio of soju and mekju needed to create the bombastic somek, mixture of soju and mekju. Pay attention that these all need to be done in a very meticulous manner. And then, everyone gets their glasses,do the toast, and has to finish it in one gulp. Everyone must do this, otherwise be considered as mannerless. First time in Korea, I could handle it, but as time goes by, even the scent tingling my nose is already enough to stimulate nauseous center in my brain. Once I almost vomit in the middle of the feast (not fake prevomiting action), thus they spare me from the habit. Please, I prefer hot chocolate!

Feast goes on, parallel with conversation. Do not think that they only speak about work. In fact, the professors simply show genuine interest towards the juniors personal life, their hopes and their aspirations. It is not uncommon that these kind of events become a somewhat informal motivating moment for the juniors. Assisted by alcohol, juniors would sometimes admit their worload, while the professors strengthen the juniors, remind them of their own private goals, and basically just try to build a positive atmosphere. Unfortunately for me, this is mostly done in Koreans. And what should a poor lost soul like me do amidst explosion of peculiar unfamiliar words? There was a time when I consoled myself by pulling out my phone. First, check my chatting app (no messages sent, hmmph crazy workaholic boyfriend), instagram (nobody uploaded new pictures), so finally I landed on my newest favourite simulation game: Tiny Castle. I need to plant some apples on my farms in order to feed my cute creatures. As I was busy with my game, suddenly my Korean friend besides me snatched my phone. “It is not polite. Remember the principle of togetherness. We are all being together here and noone should distract him or herself into private business.” And so I went speechless. I remember the supercommon view in Indonesian restaurants where every single person on the same table is busy with their own smartphones. And they are usually not some random people sitting on the same table; they are familiar with each other. Togetherness versus smartphones; smartphones, you might win the battle in Indonesia, but never in Korea.

Leave a comment